choose one

Prestigious award for Piotr Soyka, the president of Remontowa

The award - Lewiatan statuette, was handed on 19 May 2005, during a solemn gala at Philharmonic of Krakow. It is one of two awards having been granted for two years by the Lewiatan Polish Confederation of Private Employers.

The Andrzej Wierzbicki award (he was the main advocate and representative of business circles of between-war Poland, the president of the before-war Lewiatan Central Federation of Polish Industry, Mining, Trade and Finances, to the tradition of which the Polish Confederation of Private Employers referred to in the year 2004, incurring the Lewiatan name) is granted to "an outstanding businessman, who influences Polish enterprise by continuing its best traditions" . There is also the second Wladysław Grabowski award "for persons of public life, who highly contribute to the enterprise development".

This year the first award was granted to Piotr Soyka, the second to Prof. Jerzy Hausner.

The award is granted by a chapter of: Henryk Bochniarz, Hanna Gronkiewicz-Walz, Leszek Balcerowicz, Wiesław Rozlucki, Adam Chrzanowski, Jacek Socha, Andrzej Zoll, Maciej Grabski, Piotr Wierzbicki. The chapter granted the award to Piotr Soyka "for creating the vision of and constantly leading an up-to-date company, which has taken its place among world-wide leaders at the ship repair market, and has become a leading European shipyard; for effective conversion of a state enterprise into a private company of world-wide recognition; for proving that shipbuilding industry in Poland shall not be critical and subsidized by the State; for creating and animating activities of businessmen in the region of Gdansk ."

Handing the award made a culminating point of a two-day conference "A Year in European Union - assessment and perspectives for business", organised on 19 and 20 May, 2005, by the Lewiatan Polish Confederation of Private Employers at Krakow Sheraton hotel. Outstanding persons of Polish economy, politics and culture were attending the conference as panellists, among others Danuta Hubner, Leszek Balcerowicz, Dariusz Rosati, Jerzy Hausner, Michal Boni, Witold Orlowsi, Janusz Sniadek, Andrzej Wajda, Janusz Palikot, Janina Ochojska, Magdalena Sroda, a bishop Tadeusz Pieronek, Jan Rokita.

Copyright 2005 Remontowa